Mamas Day Events

Artist: Melanie Cervantes


Southern Birth Justice Network

Young Mamas Panel

Friday, May 8, 2020
6:30 – 8:00 PM EST / 5:30 – 7:00 PM CST

SBJN members who are young mamas discuss their experience prenatally, postnatally and navigating parenthood. This space will be moderated by Lanieyah, an alumna of their youth program and dope doula.

RSVP


Southern Birth Justice Network

Birthworkers Panel

Saturday, May 9, 2020
4:00 – 5:30 PM EST

This panel will feature Birthworkers (doulas and midwives) from all over the country that support and work with Black Mamas to improve health outcomes for Black Mamas and babies throughout the US. This panel will be moderated by SBJN’s Jamarah Amani and will cover Birth Justice, COVID-19 responses, active interventions and systemic racism that these providers navigate every day to change the way the US looks at birth.

RSVP


Southern Birth Justice Network

DJ Mamas Day Party

Sunday, May 10, 2020
12:00 PM – 2:00 PM EST / 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM CST | SBJN/Carmen

This event is sure to get you moving and bouncing even from the comfort of your own home. Hosted by SBJN’s very own Dancing Doula Carmen Antonetty.

RSVP


 

Artwork in image by Sage Satori.

Fanm Saj

Sacred Ori Affirmation Card Deck Launch Party

Saturday, May 9, 2020
6:00 – 7:30 PM EST / 5:00 – 6:30 PM CST

Experience a virtual card reading and hear from those who worked on the brand new Sacred Ori affirmation deck — Sage Satori, artist and Ruth Jeannoel, Fanm Saj Founder and Director. Affirm yourself and meet people who are also committing to fortifying themselves.

RSVP

For a hard copy of the affirmation card deck and to support the work of Fanm Saj, please  order a deck.


 


Forward Together & Forward Together Action

Virtual Mamas Day

Saturday, May 9, 2020
12:00 PM –  1:00 PM PT

Live in Oregon and want to connect with other Mamas of color? Join Forward Together & Forward Together Action for a virtual Mamas Day celebration! This year we’ll dig into what’s at stake for Mamas in the 2020 Oregon Primary Elections which is coming up in May, and make space to share gratitude for the Mamas in our lives.

RSVP


 


Unite for Reproductive & Gender Equality

Mamas Day Brunch

Sunday, May 10, 2020
3:00 PM EST / 2:00 PM CST

URGE will debut their 2020 Young Mama Films highlighting three amazing young mamas in the south: Gissel Arredondo, Shakera Cheston, & Angel Patterson. After the film, join a Q&A with the mamas, followed by breakout spaces for folks to build community and talk about caregiving/parenting. This space is open to mamas and those who love mamas!

RSVP